To read this content please select one of the options below:

Continuous improvement: the ten essential criteria

Mike Kaye (University of Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK, and)
Rosalyn Anderson (Hampshire County Council, Winchester, UK)

International Journal of Quality & Reliability Management

ISSN: 0265-671X

Article publication date: 1 July 1999



This study advocates a planned and integrated approach for achieving continuous improvement in an organisation. A model based on ten essential criteria and supporting elements of “best practice” is provided. The role of senior management in ceaselessly driving the improvement cause is emphasized together with the need to focus on stakeholder requirements, measure performance and learn from results. The underpinning foundations are seen to be a culture for innovation, focusing on critical processes and the involvement of employees, together with the integration of improvement activities throughout the organisation. Use of the proposed model is seen as preparatory for, and complementary to, the more complex models (such as the business excellence model or Baldrige criteria) which are useful where an organisation already has the foundations and culture for improvement and wishes to stretch itself further.



Kaye, M. and Anderson, R. (1999), "Continuous improvement: the ten essential criteria", International Journal of Quality & Reliability Management, Vol. 16 No. 5, pp. 485-509.




Copyright © 1999, MCB UP Limited

Related articles