Outstanding Doctoral Research Awards

On the Horizon

ISSN: 1074-8121

Article publication date: 1 December 2005



(2005), "Outstanding Doctoral Research Awards", On the Horizon, Vol. 13 No. 4. https://doi.org/10.1108/oth.2005.27413daa.001



Emerald Group Publishing Limited

Copyright © 2005, Emerald Group Publishing Limited

Outstanding Doctoral Research Awards

As part of Emerald Group Publishing’s commitment to supporting excellence in research, we are pleased to announce that the 1st Annual Outstanding Doctoral Research Awards have been decided. Details about the winners are shown below. 2005 was the first year in which the awards were presented and, due to the success of the initiative, the programme is to be continued in future years. The idea for the awards, which are jointly sponsored by Emerald Group Publishing and the European Foundation for Management Development (EFMD), came about through exploring how we can encourage, celebrate and reward excellence in international management research. Each winner has received €1,500 and a number have had the opportunity to meet and discuss their research with a relevant journal editor. Increased knowledge-sharing opportunities and the exchange and development of ideas that extend beyond the peer review of the journals have resulted from this process. The awards have specifically encouraged research and publication by new academics: evidence of how their research has impacted upon future study or practice was taken into account when making the award selections and we feel confident that the winners will go on to have further success in their research work.

The winners for 2005 are as follows:

  • Category: Business-to-Business Marketing ManagementWinner: Victoria Little, University of Auckland, New ZealandUnderstanding customer value: an action research-based study of contemporary marketing practice

  • Category: Enterprise Applications of Internet TechnologyWinner: Mamata Jenamani, Indian Institute of TechnologyDesign benchmarking, user behaviour analysis and link-structure personalization in commercial websites

  • Category: Human Resource ManagementWinner: Leanne Cutcher, University of Sydney, AustraliaBanking on the customer: customer relations, employment relations and worker identity in the Australian retail banking industry

  • Category: Information ScienceWinner: Theresa Anderson, University of Technology, Sydney, AustraliaUnderstandings of relevance and topic as they evolve in the scholarly research process

  • Category: Interdisciplinary Accounting ResearchWinner: Christian Nielsen, Copenhagen Business School, DenmarkEssays on business reporting: production and consumption of strategic information in the market for information

  • Category: International Service ManagementWinner: Tracey Dagger, University of Western AustraliaPerceived service quality: proximal antecedents and outcomes in the context of a high involvement, high contact, ongoing service

  • Category: Leadership and Organizational DevelopmentWinner: Richard Adams, Cranfield University, UKPerceptions of innovations: exploring and developing innovation classification

  • Category: Management and GovernanceWinner: Anna Dempster, Judge Institute of Management, University of Cambridge, UKStrategic use of announcement options

  • Category: Operations and Supply Chain ManagementWinner: Bin Jiang, DePaul University, USAEmpirical evidence of outsourcing effects on firm’s performance and value in the short term

  • Category: Organizational Change and DevelopmentWinner: Sally Riad, Victoria University of Wellington, New ZealandManaging merger integration: a social constructionist perspective

  • Category: Public Sector ManagementWinner: John Mullins, National University of Ireland, CorkPerceptions of leadership in the public library: a transnational study

Submissions for the 2nd Annual Emerald/EFMD Outstanding Doctoral Research Awards are now being received and we would encourage you to recommend the awards to doctoral candidates who you believe to have undertaken excellent research. The deadline by which we require all applications is 1 March 2006. For further details about the subject categories, eligibility and submission requirements, please visit the web site: www.emeraldinsight.com/info/researchers/funding/doctoralawards/2006awards.html

Related articles