To read this content please select one of the options below:

Specialized Accreditation and the Library

Mary Sellen (Director of the Thurmond Clarke Memorial Library, at Chapman College, in Orange, California)

Collection Building

ISSN: 0160-4953

Article publication date: 1 March 1991



Accrediting agencies come in two sizes, the large regional associations that determine academic standards throughout the United States such as the Western Association of Schools and Colleges or North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, and smaller specialized agencies that determine specific criteria for academic programs such as Accrediting Bureau of Engineering Technology (ABET) or American Psychological Association (APA). On the surface, both types of accreditation are voluntary. However, essentials in the world of academia, such as government, state and local funding, are dependent on, at a minimum, regional accreditation. Thus, regional accreditation is sought by all. In the current world of tight funding, however, the role of specialized accreditation is taking on significance even though it plays a different, but similar role.


Sellen, M. (1991), "Specialized Accreditation and the Library", Collection Building, Vol. 11 No. 3, pp. 2-8.




Copyright © 1991, MCB UP Limited

Related articles