To read this content please select one of the options below:

Arab enemies may impose new sanctions on Qatar

Monday, June 26, 2017


Hopes for a swift resolution of the Gulf crisis were dashed on June 23 when details emerged of a list of 13 demands sent by the four countries that launched a boycott of Qatar on June 5: Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Egypt and Bahrain.


  • The concept of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) as a common market has been permanently damaged.
  • An increased political risk premium will raise borrowing costs across the GCC.
  • Firms in Qatar will find it harder to retain and recruit professional expatriate staff.

Related articles

Expert Briefings logo
Stay up to date
Sign up to the Expert Daily Briefings email alert and receive up-to-the-minute analysis of global events as they happen.
*If your university does not have access to Expert Briefings, visit our information page to find out more.