Sustainable Development Award

Nutrition & Food Science

ISSN: 0034-6659

Article publication date: 1 December 2004



(2004), "Sustainable Development Award", Nutrition & Food Science, Vol. 34 No. 6.



Emerald Group Publishing Limited

Copyright © 2004, Emerald Group Publishing Limited

Sustainable Development Award

The prestigious Health Service Journal Awards aim to recognise and reward every aspect of healthcare management: acute services, primary care, public health, chronic disease and mental health. There are 16 award categories, one of which is the Sustainable Development category, sponsored by the King’s Fund.

Submissions are now invited for the 2004 HSJ Awards, and we would urge any NHS Trust working on any aspect of sustainable development to consider entering their Trust for an award. Submissions under the Sustainable Development category could include the following elements:

  1. 1.

    Building local skills and providing routes into employment.

  2. 2.

    Procurement policies that strengthen local communities, improve health and the environment.

  3. 3.

    Sustainable management of waste and energy, e.g. encouraging recycling and procurement of recycled goods.

  4. 4.

    Reducing dependence on cars and encouraging walking and cycling.

  5. 5.

    Planning, construction and refurbishment of buildings to promote social, economic and environmental sustainability.

Last year, Whipps Cross University Hospital in East London, were the winners in the Sustainable Development category, for their pioneering PFI redevelopment work, which contributes to local regeneration. The awards evening will take place in London on 15 November.

For more information about the awards, and how to enter, visit the Web site:

Related articles