Innos appoints Professor William J. Stewart (FREng) as chairman of the board

Microelectronics International

ISSN: 1356-5362

Article publication date: 1 December 2004




(2004), "Innos appoints Professor William J. Stewart (FREng) as chairman of the board", Microelectronics International, Vol. 21 No. 3.



Emerald Group Publishing Limited

Copyright © 2004, Emerald Group Publishing Limited

Innos appoints Professor William J. Stewart (FREng) as chairman of the board

Innos appoints Professor William J. Stewart (FREng) as chairman of the board

Keywords: Silicon, Chairman

Innos Ltd, the UK’s leading research and development company for innovations in silicon technology, today announced the appointment of Professor William J. Stewart (FREng) to the position of chairman of the board (Plate 1).

Plate 1 Professor William J. Stewart

Professor Stewart chairs a board of directors at Innos that includes eminent academics and industry leaders. Innos has a 30-year heritage as an internationally renowned facility, with a full processing capability for silicon-based technologies. It will support academic research and development and fully exploit commercial opportunities across the UK and Europe.

"The facilities and expertise at Innos have seen over 100 projects successfully completed in the past 10 years, with the worlds leading companies and academic institutions," comments Professor William Stewart. "We are conducting pioneering research and development that is at the cutting edge of innovation."

Previously Chief Scientist at Marconi, Professor Stewart is a visiting Professor at University College London and the Optoelectronics Research Centre at the University of Southampton. He is the author of 64 conference papers and journal papers, including many invited papers and 48 patents.

Based at Innos’ state-of-the-art silicon fabrication facility in Southampton, the board of directors at Innos:

  • Chairman of the Board, Professor William J. Stewart (FREng)

  • Chief Executive Officer, Steve Byars – over 20 years in the microelectronics industry, Byars was one of the founding members of the National Microelectronics Institute and of the Welsh Electronics Forum. He is the former COO of IQE Plc. and CEO of semiconductor silicon foundry ESM.

  • Director and Technical Advisor, Professor Peter Ashburn – lecturer at the Electronics and Computer Science Department of the University of Southampton since 1978, he has authored and co-authored 170 papers and is currently the holder of a Personal Chair in Microelectronics.

  • Director, Professor Wendy Hall – head of the University of Southampton’s School of Electronics and Computer Science (ECS) and member of the Government’s Council for Science and Technology.

  • Director, Andrew Monk – business manager at the Centre For Enterprise and Innovation at the University of Southampton.

  • Director, Allan Spencer – allan Spencer is Deputy Director of Finance at the University of Southampton, where he has worked for five years.

For further information, please contact: E-mail:

Related articles