2005 Hurricane season recovery information

Disaster Prevention and Management

ISSN: 0965-3562

Article publication date: 1 May 2006



(2006), "2005 Hurricane season recovery information", Disaster Prevention and Management, Vol. 15 No. 3. https://doi.org/10.1108/dpm.2006.07315cab.002



Emerald Group Publishing Limited

Copyright © 2006, Emerald Group Publishing Limited

2005 Hurricane season recovery information

From Tropical Storm Arlene, which emerged on June 8, just a week after the official start of hurricane season, to early October’s Tropical Storm Tammy, the hurricane season of 2005 has been one of the busiest in memory (and it is not over yet). Hurricane Katrina became one of the most devastating storms in history, taking hundreds of lives across the Gulf Coast and forcing the largest relocation in American history. There have already been 19 named storms this season, resulting in nine federal disaster declarations and, as part of the Katrina relocation effort, emergency declarations have been issued for 42 states and the District of Columbia.

To assist in the recovery efforts, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has dedicated a web site to recovery information related to the hurricanes of 2005, Dennis, Katrina, and Rita, specifically, broken down by storm and then by the affected states. The web site, located at: www.fema.gov/press/2005/hurricane_season.shtm, also features links to general recovery and mitigation information. Another FEMA web site: www.fema.gov/press/2005/resources_katrina.shtm, provides links to information on how to get help in recovering from Hurricane Katrina.

In related news, FEMA has developed an online Individual Assistance Center (IAC) to allow those who have registered for disaster assistance to access information about their cases on the internet. The release of the IAC follows on the heels of FEMA’s launch of an online registration application in fall 2004 that allows individuals to register from any computer or at kiosks set up at disaster recovery centers. The IAC is located at: www.disasteraid.fema.gov/.

FEMA and America’s Second Harvest partner to feed disaster victims

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and America’s Second Harvest have signed an official memorandum of understanding establishing a permanent relationship to bring much needed food and supplies to victims of the nation’s worst disasters. As the nation’s Food Bank Network, America’s Second Harvest works with more than 210 food banks around the country, serving all 50 states and Puerto Rico.

The memorandum of understanding provides a framework for FEMA and America’s Second Harvest to continue working together in carrying out disaster response and recovery operations. In addition to coordination of distribution of supplies in a disaster, the agreement includes coordinated outreach campaigns to encourage mitigation of hazard risks and community involvement both before and after disasters occur. Find out more about America’s Second Harvest, including the organization’s involvement in response to Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, at: www.secondharvest.org/.

Related articles