Career Development International

ISSN: 1362-0436

Article publication date: 3 April 2007



Baruch, Y. (2007), "Editorial", Career Development International, Vol. 12 No. 2. https://doi.org/10.1108/cdi.2007.13712baa.001



Emerald Group Publishing Limited

Copyright © 2007, Emerald Group Publishing Limited


We had a very positive year on Career Development International (CDI) in 2006, with much progress and many developments. Starting with the good news, CDI was accepted for coverage by PsychINFO. The journal now appears on a greater number of Journal Quality lists and is gaining in prestige. All this represents increased recognition by the academic community of CDI’s improving quality and visibility.

We have maintained a high standard of publication and continue to provide high quality and developmental reviews in a timely manner (an average of 30 days when including outright desk rejections). Further, while we have seen an improvement in the number of quality submissions to the journal, our rejection rate is still holding at around 70 per cent.

We have been successful in recruiting more scholars to the Editorial Board: Denise Rousseau, Maria Kraimer, Gayle Baugh, and Stephen Teo. Collectively, our new members have enhanced the journal’s representation from the Far East and have improved the gender balance on the Board.

CDI has benefited from publishing several Special Issues in 2006 and this feature of the journal has generated much interest and attention. We will continue in this vein and I would be happy to consider further suggestions for forthcoming Special Issues. We have also introduced a Book Reviews section and extend a warm welcome to Sam Rabinowitz, who has joined the editorial team as Reviews Editor. I hope that the readership will benefit from, and appreciate, this new feature of CDI. Authors of books relevant to the careers field are invited to send Sam their new published books for consideration.

I look forward to another good year for CDI.

The following individuals acted as referees for Career Development International in 2005/2006:

  • Susan M. Adams (Bentley College, USA);

  • Hammad Akbar (University of East Anglia, UK);

  • Mike Arthur (Suffolk College, USA);

  • Gayle Baugh (University of West Florida, USA);

  • Nikos Bozionelos (Durham University UK);

  • Marc A. Brackett (Yale University, USA);

  • Lisa Bradley (Queensland University of Technology, Australia);

  • Adelina Broadbridge (University of Stirling, UK);

  • Val Caven (Nottingham Trent University, UK);

  • Jean-Luc Cerdin (ESSEC Business School, France);

  • Madeline Crocitto (State University of New York, USA);

  • Nira Danziger (College of Management, Israel);

  • Ross Donohue (Monash University Australia);

  • Lillian T. Eby (University of Georgia, USA);

  • Michael Flanagan (California State University, USA);

  • Monica, L. Forret (St Ambrose University, USA);

  • Lori Foster Thompson (North Carolina State University, USA);

  • Michael Garmon (Touro University International, USA);

  • Stephen Gibb (Strathclyde University, UK);

  • Donald E. Gibson (Fairfield University, USA);

  • Lucy L. Gilson (University of Connecticut, USA);

  • Jackie Granleese (University of East Anglia, UK);

  • Cherlyn Granrose (Berry College, USA);

  • Victor Y. Haines III (University of Montreal, Canada);

  • Emily Heapy (University of Michigan, USA);

  • Pia Heilmann (Lappeenranta University of Technology, Finland);

  • Monica Higgins (Harvard University, USA);

  • Patricia Hind (Ashridge Business School, UK);

  • Sheena Hudson (Otago University, New Zealand);

  • Alexander Iellatchitch (Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration, Austria);

  • Tang Jintong (University of Alabama, USA);

  • Ronit Kark (Bar-Ilan University, Israel);

  • Svetlana Khapova (University of Twente, The Netherlands);

  • Naresh Khatri (University of Missouri, USA);

  • Ruth C. King (University of North Carolina at Greensboro, USA);

  • Avi Kirshenbaum (The Technion, Israel);

  • Maria Kraimer (University of Melbourne, Australia);

  • Betty McDonald (University of Trinidad and Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago);

  • Kate Mackenzie Davey (Birkbeck College, UK);

  • Lisa Mainiero (Fairfield University, USA);

  • Helene M. Mayerhofer (Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration, Austria);

  • Beverly Metcalfe (Hull University, UK);

  • Gloria A. Moss (Glamorgan University, UK and Ecole Superieure de Gestion, Paris);

  • Jane Moy (Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong);

  • Serap Nazl (Balikesir University, Turkey);

  • Ike-Elechi Ogba (University of Northumbria at Newcastle upon Tyne, UK);

  • Deborah A. O’Neil (Case Western Reserve University, USA);

  • Mustafa Ozbilgin (Queen Mary University of London, UK);

  • Betty Jane Punnett (University of the West Indies, Barbados);

  • Caroline Quispel (University of Groningen. The Netherlands);

  • Ujvala Rajadhyaksha (Notre Dame University, USA);

  • Douglas Renwick (Sheffield University, UK);

  • Julia Robertson (York University, Canada);

  • Zehava Rosenblatt (University of Haifa, Israel);

  • Andrew Rothwell (Derby University, UK);

  • Argun Saatcioglu (Case Western Reserve University, USA);

  • Ruth Simpson (Brunel University, UK);

  • Val Sing (Cranfield University, UK);

  • Vasanthi Srinivasan (Indian Institute of Management Bangalore, India);

  • Torbjörn Stjernberg (Göteborg University, Sweden);

  • Sherry Sullivan (Bowling Green University, USA);

  • Stephen Swailes (University of Hull, UK);

  • Sandra Taylor (Kaplan University, USA);

  • Phyllis Tharenou (University of South Australia, Australia);

  • Walter Tymon (Villanova University, USA);

  • Shay Tzafrir (University of Haifa, Israel);

  • Monique Valcour (Boston College, USA);

  • Sinikka Vanhala (Helsinki School of Economics, Finland);

  • Veronica Velo (Coventry University, UK);

  • David Wan (National University of Singapore, Singapore);

  • Celeste Wilderom (University of Twente, The Netherlands);

  • Susan Winter (Brunel University, UK);

  • Melody L. Wollan (Touro University International, USA);

  • Pei Chuan Wu (National University of Singapore, Singapore); and

  • Jelena Zikic (Instituto de Empresa in Madrid, Spain).

Yehuda BaruchNorwich Business School, Norwich, UK

Related articles