Coated sheet steel producer PRO-TEC wins Baldrige Award

Anti-Corrosion Methods and Materials

ISSN: 0003-5599

Article publication date: 21 March 2008



(2008), "Coated sheet steel producer PRO-TEC wins Baldrige Award", Anti-Corrosion Methods and Materials, Vol. 55 No. 2.



Emerald Group Publishing Limited

Copyright © 2008, Emerald Group Publishing Limited

Coated sheet steel producer PRO-TEC wins Baldrige Award

Article Type: Industrial news From: Anti-Corrosion Methods and Materials, Volume 55, Issue 2.

The US Department of Commerce has selected PRO-TEC Coating Company, a provider of world-class coated sheet steel in coil form primarily to the quality-critical automotive industry, as a recipient of the prestigious Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award for 2007. Each year, the US Department of Commerce selects a small number of companies in seven areas for the quality excellence award, which is traditionally presented by the president of the USA. The Baldrige Award recognizes organizations for their achievements in quality and performance, and it raises awareness about the importance of performance excellence as a competitive edge. PRO-TEC won in the small business category (defined as employing 500 people or fewer).

“Receiving the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award is a tremendous honor for PRO-TEC, and we'd like to thank the U.S. Department of Commerce for this recognition,” said PRO-TEC President Paul Worstell. “This award is a tribute to our dedicated PRO-TEC associates and to our parent organizations, United States Steel Corporation and KOBE Steel, whose traditions of quality and constant improvement are the foundation for our success at PRO-TEC.”

The Baldrige Award is the top honor a US company can receive for quality achievement and performance excellence. Criteria for the award include: leadership; strategic planning; customer and market focus; measurement, analysis, and knowledge management; human resource focus; process management; and business results. PRO-TEC is one of only five companies to win the award in 2007, and it is the only company to win in the small business category.

Source: ASM International.

More information is available from the web site located at:

Related articles