THE AUTHORS

Kenneth J. Arrow is the Joan Kenney Professor of Economics and Professor of Operations Research at Stanford University. Professor Arrow is the recipient of the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, the von Neumann Prize, the John Bates Clark Medal, and numerous honorary degrees.

Kevin J. Boyle is an Associate Professor of Resource Economics at the University of Maine.

John F. Daum is a partner in the law firm O'Melveny & Myers.

Mike A. Denning is an economist with Exxon Company, U.S.A.

William H. Desvousges is Program Director, Natural Resource Damages and Risk Communication, for the Research Triangle Institute's Center for Economics Research.

Peter A. Diamond is the Paul A. Samuelson Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Professor Diamond is a recipient of the Indian Econometric Association's Mahalanobis Memorial Award.

Richard W. Dunford is the Assistant Director of the Natural Resource Damages Program in the Center for Economics Research at the Research Triangle Institute.

Zvi Griliches is the Paul M. Warburg Professor of Economics at Harvard University. Professor Griliches is a recipient of the American Economics Association's John Bates Clark Medal and an honorary doctorate from Hebrew University.

Jerry A. Hausman is the John and Jennie S. McDonald Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is also a special consultant at Cambridge Economics, Inc. Professor Hausman is a recipient of the Econometric Society's Frisch Medal, as well as the American Economic Association's John Bates Clark Medal.

Sara P. Hudson is an economist at the Research Triangle Institute.

F. Reed Johnson is an economist at the Research Triangle Institute.

x Authors

Michael A. Kemp is Vice-President of Charles River Associates.

Gregory K. Leonard is a Director with the consulting firm Cambridge Economics, Inc.

Christopher Maxwell is a Vice-President of Charles River Associates.

Daniel L. McFadden is the E. Morris Cox Professor of Economics and Director of the Econometrics Laboratory at the University of California at Berkeley. Professor McFadden has received the American Economic Association's John Bates Clark Medal and the Frisch Medal of the Econometric Society.

Walter J. Mead is Professor Emeritus of Economics at the University of California at Santa Barbara.

Paul R. Milgrom is Professor of Economics at Stanford University and a Fellow of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences.

John W. Payne is the Joseph J. Ruvane, Jr., Professor of Business Administration and Psychology, Research Professor in the Institute of Statistics and Decision Sciences, and Director of the Center for Decision Studies at Duke University and its Fuqua School of Business.

Charles R. Plott is the Edward S. Harkners Professor of Economics and Political Science at the California Institute of Technology, where he is also Director of the Program for the Study of Enterprise and Public Policy and Director of the Laboratory for Experimental Economics and Political Science.

Alan Randall is a Professor of Agricultural Economics at The Ohio State University.

David A. Schkade is an Associate Professor of Management in the Graduate School of Business at the University of Texas.

Steven Shavell is Professor of Law and Economics and the Director of the Program in Law and Economics at Harvard Law School.

K. Nicole Wilson is an economist at the Research Triangle Institute.