100 books

David Bawden (City University London, London, UK)

Journal of Documentation

ISSN: 0022-0418

Article publication date: 12 January 2015

Citation

Bawden, D. (2015), "100 books", Journal of Documentation, Vol. 71 No. 1. https://doi.org/10.1108/JD-11-2014-0157

Publisher

:

Emerald Group Publishing Limited


100 books

Article Type: Editorial From: Journal of Documentation, Volume 71, Issue 1

Histories of things in 100 other things seem to be all the rage these days. The British Museum started it, with its History of the World in 100 Objects (MacGregor, 2011). John Julius Norwich extended the idea to a history of England in 100 places (Norwich, 2011), the Imperial War Museum got in on the act looking at the First World War in 100 objects (John and Steel, 2014). We have had the history of life in 100 fossils, of the twentieth century in 100 maps, of war in 100 battles, of London in 100 places; and the list goes on.

One of the latest, and certainly one of the best, example is the splendid History of the Book in 100 Books, by Roderick Cave and Sara Ayad, published by Quarto on behalf of the British Library. Ranging of cave paintings to manga and e-books, this gives a comprehensive survey of books of all kinds. Although a significant proportion of the 100 exemplars are the manuscripts and printed volumes which we might expect from the title, the authors commendably broaden out the scope of the work in three ways. They avoid a overly western focus, by including material from around the world. They take a broad understanding of “book”, including carved bones, Incas khipus, Indian palm leaves, text reels, and “antibooks”. And they include clear accounts of the, sometimes overlooked, techniques of book production throughout history, rather than simply focusing on the results in terms of their 100 exemplars.

Somehow the subject of books seems to bring out the best in writers who seek both to provide authoritative scholarly information and also to produce an attractive and readable book in itself. The authors have succeeded admirably here, with a good choice of topics, clear and detailed text and excellent illustrations. Like David Pearson’s (2013) Books as History, also published by the British Library, this is a book which is equally suitable as a text for serious study, and also a high-class coffee-table book.

For readers of Journal of Documentation, this book brings the message that the processes and products of documentation are not only important and valuable but may also be cultural, and beautiful, artifacts in their own right. We sometimes, I think, forget this, and this splendid book is a timely reminder.

David Bawden

References

John, H.-W. and Steel, N. (2014), A History of the First World War in 100 Objects, Cassell, London

MacGregor, N. (2011), A History of the World in 100 Objects, Allen Lane, London

Norwich, J.J. (2011), A history of England in 100 Places, John Murray, London

Pearson, D. (2013), Books as History: the Importance of Books beyond their Texts, 2nd ed., British Library, London

Further reading

Cave, R. and Ayad, S. (2014), The History of the Book in 100 Books, British Library, London